Winless AFL sides ring the changes

Port Adelaide, Brisbane and Carlton have all made four changes as they seek to bank four points for the first time this AFL season.

The Power have promoted debutant Brendon Ah Chee, Aaron Young, Kane Mitchell and Nathan Krakouer for Saturday’s clash with North Melbourne, with hamstrung Jarman Impey, rested Kane Cornes and dropped duo Jake Neade and Jarrad Redden making way.

The Lions, thumped by the Kangaroos last Sunday, have omitted Matthew Leuenberger, Ryan Lester and Zac O’Brien for Saturday night’s home game against Richmond.

Michael Close is out due to his season-ending knee injury, while Brent Staker is among four inclusions and will play his first game since 2013.

The Blues welcome back veteran Andrew Walker, Ciaran Byrne, Patrick Cripps and Dennis Armfield for their MCG match on Saturday against rivals Essendon.

Clem Smith and Jason Tutt are both axed, while Simon White (knee) and Troy Menzel (calf) are sidelined with injuries.

Geelong and Gold Coast, the only other winless teams after two rounds, have also rung the changes for their meeting on Sunday.

Jimmy Bartel, Steven Motlop and Jared Rivers are named in the Cats’ 25-man squad.

Jarrod Harbrow (shoulder), Mitch Hallahan (ribs), Alex Sexton (suspension) and Greg Broughton (achilles) join captain Gary Ablett (shoulder) in being enforced omissions for the Suns.

Josh Gibson and Sam Mitchell are back for Hawthorn’s battle against the Western Bulldogs in Launceston on Sunday, when Brendan Whitecross could make a long-awaited return after two knee reconstructions.

James Frawley (pectoral) and Jono O’Rourke are cut from the Hawks’ team after their loss to Essendon in round two.

West Coast’s Simon Tunbridge (ankle), Fremantle small forward Hayden Ballantyne (suspension), Bulldogs midfielder Easton Wood (hamstring) and Geelong trio Dawson Simpson (omitted), Billie Smedts (suspension) and Andrew Mackie (quad) are the only other confirmed omissions among Sunday’s games.

Meanwhile, Sydney have confirmed Harry Cunningham will take Adam Goodes’ place in their line-up for Saturday’s cross-town derby against Greater Western Sydney.

The Swans have named Ben McGlynn, who has recovered from a hamstring injury, as an emergency.

Greater Western Sydney have promoted ruckman Andrew Phillips in place of injured forward Adam Tomlinson.

The Kangaroos have called on Ryan Bastinac and Robbie Tarrant in place of Nick Dal Santo (hamstring) and Joel Tippett, while David Astbury is among three inclusions for the Tigers.

Essendon have made one change after their thrilling win over Hawthorn, with veteran defender Dustin Fletcher back for James Gwilt.

Undefeated Adelaide have added debutant Jake Kelly and decorated veteran Scott Thompson to their squad for Saturday’s home game against Melbourne, who have selected Jay Kennedy-Harris in place of Jack Viney (leg).

In-doubt captains Scott Pendlebury and Nick Riewoldt have been named by Collingwood and St Kilda respectively for Friday night’s fixture at the MCG.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!