Swans grab AFL minor premiership in style

Sydney have clinched the AFL minor premiership in breathtaking fashion with a crushing 113-point victory over Richmond at the SCG.

Lance Franklin kicked seven goals, Ben McGlynn a career-equal-best five and Gary Rohan four as the Swans surged to a 25.14 (164) to 7.9 (51) win on Saturday night.

It was Sydney’s sixth straight victory and their fourth by 67 points or more in that period, though fading North Melbourne were their only top-eight opponent in that time.

At one stage, Sydney piled on 70 successive points and they led by as much as 136 in the final quarter before the Tigers kicked four of the last five goals in a belated show of defiance.

The contest, though it barely merited that word, was a stark contrast with their first meeting this season, when Richmond won by one point with a goal after the siren.

Richmond didn’t kick their first goal until the second quarter and trailed by 31, 81 and 123 at the breaks.

The Swans fast ball movement and unrelenting pressure proved far too much for a Richmond side lacking desire.

It was Sydney’s biggest score and winning margin in three years.

Josh Kennedy spearheaded a dominant midfield, youngster Isaac Heeney looked sharp and a miserly defensive unit kept the clamps on the Tigers’ forwards.

Richmond’s 14th loss of the season left them 13th, their lowest placing since they finished 15th in coach Damien Hardwick’s first year in charge in 2010.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!