Brownlow medal winners and favourites



* Nat Fyfe (Fremantle) – $1.95 TAB, $2 Sportsbet

There seems to be no doubt the gifted 24-year-old will be leading the count at the halfway mark but can he hang on? Averaged an astonishing 19 contested disposals a game in a blistering first 12 rounds as Fremantle went 11-1 but injuries blunted his influence later in the season

* Matt Priddis (West Coast) – $5 TAB, $4.50 Sportsbet

Last year’s surprise winner is very much on the radar, playing all 22 games and producing arguably better form. Will fight with other Eagles for votes this season given the club’s much-improved record

* Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide) – $6 TAB, $8 Sportsbet

Dangerfield is a proven poller on Brownlow night and his past year at Adelaide brought the midfielder his first club best and fairest. Could storm home, mimicking the Crows’ good late-season form

* Todd Goldstein (North Melbourne) – $9 TAB, $14 Sportsbet

The ruckman was a $1001 shot in pre-season but has tallied more than 1000 hitouts in an All-Australian year. North Melbourne’s best player in a breakout year but whether umpires will give him a vote is another question; no ruckman has won the medal since Scott Wynd in 1992

* Dan Hannebery (Sydney) – $10 TAB, $10 Sportsbet

The gut-busting and tough tackling Sydney midfielder won the AFL Coaches Association’s champion player award over Fyfe by a solitary point after the best season of his career

* Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) – $11 TAB, $11 Sportsbet

The prolific Brownlow vote winner has been in inspirational form in the Hawks’ run to the grand final. But no Hawk has won the Brownlow under Alastair Clarkson’s reign with so many contributors

* Josh Kennedy (Sydney) – $17 TAB, $21 Sportsbet

The beating heart of Sydney’s midfield will compete for votes with Hannebery but came into his own towards season’s end and should poll in the last four weeks

* Andrew Gaff (West Coast) – $17 TAB, $21 Sportsbet

The first-time All Australian hasn’t won games off his own back but has been a week-in, week-out contributor in West Coast’s stunning season. Would be the second No.3-wearing Eagle to win the prize after Chris Judd

* David Mundy (Fremantle) – $26 TAB, $51 Sportsbet

Mundy is predicted to step in where Fyfe leaves off, winning votes in the back half of the season. The 30-year-old has never finished in the top 10 of a Brownlow count and is a speculative chance

* Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood) – $34 TAB, $51 Sportsbet

The Magpies’ captain and perennial Brownlow chance could find his polling opportunities limited in the last half of the season, when Collingwood found wins hard to come by


* 2014 – Matthew Priddis (West Coast, 26 votes)

* 2013 – Gary Ablett Jr (Gold Coast, 28)

* 2012 – Jobe Watson (Essendon, 30)

* 2011 – Dane Swan (Collingwood, 34)

* 2010 – Chris Judd (Carlton, 30)

* 2009 – Gary Ablett (Geelong, 30)

* 2008 – Adam Cooney (Western Bulldogs, 24)

* 2007 – Jimmy Bartel (Geelong, 29)

* 2006 – Adam Goodes (Sydney, 26)

* 2005 – Ben Cousins (West Coast, 20)


* 1. Matthew Priddis (West Coast, 26 votes)

* 2. Nat Fyfe (Fremantle, 25)

* 3. Gary Ablett (Gold Coast, 22)

* =3. Lance Franklin (Sydney, 22)

* 5. Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide, 21)

* =5. Josh Kennedy (Sydney, 21)

* =5. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide, 21)

* =5. Joel Selwood (Geelong, 21)

* 9. Steve Johnson (Geelong, 19)

* 10. Trent Cotchin (Richmond, 18)

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!