AFL clubs’ captaincy situations for 2017


* ADELAIDE – Unconfirmed. Taylor Walker widely expected to retain the captaincy. Rory Sloane the next most-likely candidate

* BRISBANE – Unconfirmed. Tom Rockliff looked set to lose the captaincy after off-field misdemeanours but new coach Chris Fagan has intriguingly signalled he might keep the job. Dayne Zorko is another candidate

* CARLTON – Marc Murphy will go around for a fifth season and Kade Simpson remains his deputy. Young gun Patrick Cripps is a future contender

* COLLINGWOOD – Unconfirmed. Scott Pendlebury odds-on to remain captain

* ESSENDON – No great surprise to see Dyson Heppell replace Jobe Watson as captain this year, with Cale Hooker and young gun Zach Merrett his deputies

* FREMANTLE – Unconfirmed. David Mundy is keen to remain captain but midfield superstar Nat Fyfe is likely to throw his hat into the ring

* GEELONG – Unconfirmed. Extremely unlikely anyone will dethrone Joel Selwood

* GOLD COAST – Gary Ablett’s exclusion from the leadership group stood out most for the Suns, with Tom Lynch and Steven May to share the captaincy

* GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY – Unconfirmed. Callan Ward and Phil Davis have done a good job as co-captains and it’s unlikely the Giants will change course

* HAWTHORN – Jarryd Roughead was a surprise choice to replace Luke Hodge as captain, considering his recent health struggles, but has long been seen as leadership material

* MELBOURNE – Nathan Jones will share duties with young gun Jack Viney in a return to co-captaincy. Former Hawthorn premiership star Jordan Lewis joins the leadership group

* NORTH MELBOURNE – As expected, Jack Ziebell replaces Andrew Swallow in a new-look Kangaroos side

* PORT ADELAIDE – Travis Boak will go around as captain again, with youngster Ollie Wines replacing Hamish Hartlett as his deputy.

* RICHMOND – Unconfirmed. Trent Cotchin is likely to stay captain. Jack Riewoldt and Dustin Martin could potentially join the leadership group

* ST KILDA – Jarryn Geary has replaced veteran Nick Riewoldt as captain. Seen by some as a left-field choice but highly respected internally

* SYDNEY – Josh Kennedy has taken over from Jarrad McVeigh and Kieren Jack after an outstanding season last year. Dan Hannebery, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe are his deputies

* WEST COAST – Unconfirmed. Shannon Hurn is likely to stay captain. Luke Shuey is viewed as a future leader

* WESTERN BULLDOGS – Bob Murphy will lead the premiers again after missing most of last season and has annointed Easton Wood, who led in his absence last year, as his successor

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!