Troicki joins Wimbledon hall of shame

A hot-headed Viktor Troicki has added his name to Wimbledon’s hall of shame on Thursday after he blew his top at umpire Damiano Torella following an over-rule in the dying seconds of his second-round defeat by Spain’s Albert Ramos-Vinolas.

Ramos-Vinolas was serving for the match at 5-3, 30-30 in the fifth set when his first serve was called out but immediately over-ruled by Italian Torella, handing match point to the Spaniard.

Troicki roared his disapproval and chased to retrieve the ball, marching towards Torella to show him that there was no white chalk on it and complaining bitterly that there was no way the ball could have hit the line.

“No way, look at it,” the Serbian 27th seed ranted at the official before angrily belting the ball outside Court 17 and into the grounds of the All England Club.

“Worst umpire ever in the world,” he added.

“What are you doing? Did you see the ball? You’re so bad,” he added gesturing wildly with his arms.

The outburst earned Troicki a warning for unsportsmanlike conduct but he was still not done with the umpire.

Once Ramos-Vinolas had wrapped up a 3-6 6-3 6-3 2-6 6-3 victory just one point later with an unreturnable serve, Troicki continued to berate Torella.

“Do you know what you did? Do you know what you did? Do you know what you did?” Troicki said with his voice rising with each question as he wagged his index finger at Torella.

“You’re horrible.”

The exchange drew jeers and cheers from the bemused Court 17 crowd before Troicki marched off and headed directly to the referee’s office.

The monumental meltdown is not only likely to earn Troicki a considerable fine from the All England Club.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!